Authors Talk: Ned Vizzini

The author of titles such as It’s Kind of a Funny Story and, most recently, House of Secrets (co-author Chris Columbus), Ned Vizzini was more than happy to answer our question about what drives him to write.

Why do you write?

“I started writing for the reason George Orwell lists as #1: “sheer egoism.”

I’ve continued to write because I like making my own hours.

Also, besides Orwell, I’d like to quote James Hetfield from Metallica. He said something on Behind the Music to the effect of, “If I weren’t in this band, I’d be working at a gas station.” If I weren’t a writer, I would be a middling computer programmer. I don’t want to be that.”

Be sure to check out more of Ned Vizzini’s writing and to check back soon for more of the Authors Talk series!

 

 

Leave a Reply

