Author Spotlight: Marlayna Glynn Brown

 Marlayna Glynn Brown is a nomadic mother of four, author, screenwriter, actress, producer, poet, yogi and photographer. Marlayna was born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada but now lives wherever she lays her head.

Marlayna’s latest release, Forty-Something Phoenix: A Travel Memoir of Love and Rebirth, takes readers from Texas to Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia/Herzegovina, Montenegro, Ukraine, Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Czech Republic, Belgium and finally The Netherlands in a search for self among the cultures of others.

Her other works include the wildly beloved memoir trilogy: Overlay – A Tale of One Girl’s Life in 1970s Las Vegas, City of Angeles and Big as All Hell and Half of Texas.

Her 2009 short film, People That do Something, is based upon a chapter from Overlay and can be viewed on Youtube.

Visit Marlayna at www.marlaynaglynnbrown.com.

1) Please tell us a little bit about the inspiration for your books.

The inspiration for my books is always about interactions with other people.  I feel everything to be learned happens via these interactions.  People are so fascinating.  I always wonder why they are the way they are, why they do the things they do?  I wonder how they are different from me and what I know? Combined with my travels, these questions lead to inspiration which manifests as my creative work.

2) What drives you to write?

Writing has always been a source of stress release for me.  Through the pen and the keyboard, I feel able to create possibilities that did not exist beforehand.  I also love the idea that through reading my stories I can create hope for others.  Since my tales are true, I volunteer to stand as an example to every neglected or abused child that one can absolutely improve their future and create the life they want to lead.  Receiving emails from readers is another motivating factor for me.  I love when readers thank me for telling their stories as children raised by alcoholics, or that they enjoy living vicariously through my travel stories.

3) What is something artistic you haven’t done before in your writing that you would like to try in the future?


While memoir is most definitely my genre, I whitewash some of my writing in order to appeal to mainstream.  I would actually like to be more brutally honest about my interactions.  I hesitate in painting too dark a picture of some for fear of hurting them.  I am starting a new book this summer about my travels with my recently deceased father’s ashes – and I am not going to change or withhold a single detail this time.  Don’t say you weren’t warned! (Laughing!)

 

Leave a Reply

