Authors Talk!

Here are some more responses to the questions 1) Why do you write? and 2) Where do you find inspiration?

Alan Bradley, author of the Flavia de Luce novels such as The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, says, “I write because I cannot not.”

While Phillip Lopate, who writes poetry, fiction, and nonfiction, including the 2013 title To Show and To Tell: The Craft of Literary Nonfiction, claims, “I write for many reasons: to stave off boredom, to see (in the spirit of an experiment) if I can make something shapely out of what starts out an inchoate mess, to try to understand what puzzles or frustrates me, by articulating my confusion and wonderment and hoping in the process to stumble upon an insight, to get my revenge on all those in my youth who thought I would never amount to anything (I’ll show them!), to communicate with the writers I love, living and dead, in a format they will understand, with the hope that they will view my efforts charitably, knowing what I was aiming for, if not achieving, to get a paycheck and help support my family, to see my name in print once again, to harness a talent, one of the few things in life I am good at, and to have my say.”

Leave a Reply

