Poetry for One and All

 

Poetry for one and all!

Ex-Boyfriend, No. 2

(after the crocheted skull

by Olek)

Before you bury me

crochet my bones

with memories

threads and yarns

on metal hooks

in magic rings

remember me

as I was

a simple

unrepentant soul

not Yorick, alas

but a jester

nevertheless

with neither brains

nor dignity.

White Flag

(after the painting by Jasper Johns)

With star-spangled innocence

we chose the god

who had chosen us

our nation singled out

from wheat and chaff

from states and continents

from sea to shining sea

we, the chosen

we who are the jetsam

of a a derelicted ship

abandoned by the god

who first selected us

Small Fire Devil Figurine

(after the painting by Paul Klee)

What a little devil I am

with finger flames

white-hot heart and horns

I walk on burning coals

as if they were cubes of ice

I am the devil you know

better than the one you don’t

unless your head and soul

were on the auction block

I’ll bid

my price, your wish

a butterfly that lives a day

for eternity in flames—

I always win

you burn.

Twice nominated for the Best of the Net, as well as for the Rhysling Award from the Science Fiction Writers Association, Neil Ellman lives and writes in New Jersey.  Hundreds of his poems, many of which are ekphrastic and based on works of modern and contemporary art, appear in print and online journals, anthologies and chapbooks throughout the world.

 

Leave a Reply

