New Poetry for a New Year

Fall Tenderly

Amidst the soft and muted light they glowed like burning embers,

dancing in the wind around the tombstones, as I recall;

it was an autumn rainbow of red and orange and gold to be remembered.

Fall tenderly like the leaves brushing against the graveyard wall.

 

You were placing flowers on a grave and you had been crying,

mourning someone very dear, and you looked so very small

in this granite-filled lot of incendiary leaves and so much dying.

Fall tenderly in my arms and make me stand up straight and tall.

 

When you gently took my arm it was an electric kind of sizzle,

and the rush of your touch made all of my skin crawl;

there were tears in our eyes as they met, and it began to drizzle.

Fall tenderly into the night as the whispering raindrops call.

 

I don’t care about the past, I no longer have misgivings;

I am here for the present, for now, and I am trying to stall,

because life is for us, it is for those who are here and still living.

Fall tenderly into my heart, and promise me your all.

 

Shari Jo LeKane-Yentumi       11/26/2012

Starry Night

Jupiter plays catch-up to the shiny Christmas Moon;

North Star of Big Dipper glows exceptionally bright;

signs this starry night that winter is coming soon.

 

Houses stand illuminated by sparkling holiday lights

surrounded in velvet darkness so quick and so cold.

North Star of Big Dipper glows exceptionally bright.

 

Events of this holiday season inevitably unfold.

Steal a sweet kiss from me under the mistletoe

surrounded in velvet darkness so quick and so cold.

 

Point to the sky because you wanted to show

how the night sky in winter has beautiful stars;

Steal a sweet kiss from me under the mistletoe.

 

It is hard to fathom eternity, or a light year so far.

Constellations, you say, are forever in motion,

and the night sky in winter has beautiful stars.

 

Celestial heavens are like a giant, spatial ocean,

and constellations, you say, are forever in motion.

Jupiter plays catch-up to the shiny, Christmas Moon,

signs this starry night that winter is coming soon.

 

 Shari Jo LeKane-Yentumi       12/05/2012

Shari Jo LeKane-Yentumi lives in St. Louis, Missouri, and holds a B.A.
in English and Spanish, and a Master of Arts in Spanish from Saint
Louis University in Madrid and St. Louis.  She specialized in
immigration and not-for-profit matters.  While recovering from brain
surgery, she is teaching creative writing to inmates in a maximum
security jail, and working on a poetry anthology, Surviving
Gracefully, and a novel, Poem to Follow.

Reason

I got the instinct impression that she invited me over just so I could watch her smoke cigarettes.

 She would call, and I would answer, and she would say

 Come over

 And I would.

 And we would sit in silence in her living room.

 And she would be smoking cigarettes

 one

 after

 another.

Eventually it would get late, and she would get tired, and I would go home.

 And a few days later the process would repeat.

 And we did this

 over

 and

 over

 and

 over.

 Until one day, as she was smoking her cigarettes, I said,

 Just tell me you love me.

 And she reached for the fan to clear the smoke from the room.

 And she said,

 I love you.

And I said,

Okay. Now I have a reason to be here.

 

 Heather Louise Harvey

Leave a Reply

